Working with Artists (Procedural Content Generation)

All that pretty stuff that we so desperately need. Even if it's just an idea or some concept art.

Moderator: DarkSpartan

Working with Artists (Procedural Content Generation)

Postby Qworg » Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:34 pm

First, IANAA (I am not an artist).

I'm very interested in procedural content generation. I believe that for a project this size, we can't draw every asset/planet/etc. I'd love to work with some of ya'll to knock out ways to generate our content/tools you need to have a handle on what's coming out of the algorithms.

Comments? Concerns? Deep Thoughts?

Thanks!
Qworg

Re: Working with Artists (Procedural Content Generation)

Postby clonk2u » Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:39 pm

Well, if this project gnaws its arm out of the bear trap, and somehow does survive, I figure planets will either be pulled from a group of template planets and populated with things like ores and buildings(these would be separate models), or generated with random specs and then populated. Either way, artists will probably be creating little things, and very rarely be making full spaceships(if at all).
What we really need for tools is to be able to send assets in a variety of formats, most commonly blend and .obj. However .obj does not support animation data, so I would recommend that you cover some of the autodesk file formats if possible. Being able to send a model without exporting gives artist more confidence that what they have made is what you are getting. Another invaluable tool would be some sort of building/viewing program, where we can see how our models will render in-game and if they cause massive lag .
Speaking of rendering, lighting is an issue, as lights are objects with a huge amount of data attached, and if lights have to be created in the game, then we need a way to create, test, and check them.
Thank you for your time and concern, the art team is slowing fading and dying, simply because we have no purpose.
clonk2u