[TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

A forum where members can list tasks, bounties, or other TODO items that advance the creation of Trillek. Please tag your post with [TASK], [BOUNTY]. or [TODO] where appropriate.

This is a moderated forum to weed out suggestions so they may be moved to the correct forum.

[TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

Postby clonk2u » Thu Oct 03, 2013 1:00 pm

Milestone 1 needs a needs a menu. Nobody appears to be making art for said menu.

The specs are as follows ;
" Main menu with three options: New game, continue, and exit.

Exit should go without requesting conformation.

Esc for GameOver popup dialogue asking for confirmation. "


This does not need to be fancy.

Font limitations are tied to the license, so you have to use an open source font

A helpful site would be http://openfontlibrary.org/

There is no limit to button size or layout design.

*We Do Not Need A Pretty Menu**We Need This Menu A.S.A.P.*

Thank you!
clonk2u
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:29 am

Re: [TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

Postby Talvi » Fri Oct 04, 2013 7:58 am

Related link. Pseudonym tells me it's not a good idea, unless I keep just the image text with alpha... but... Here ya go. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=471&p=4895#p4895
Talvi
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:30 am

Re: [TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

Postby clonk2u » Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:40 pm

well, I suppose if its an in-game menu, or an out of game menu. Either way, it can probably be used, but, please put things on their own layers in the meantime.
clonk2u
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:29 am

Re: [TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

Postby Talvi » Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:46 pm

Here's it cut into layers, with *.psd files. https://www.dropbox.com/s/2jakxa3lc3bdrp0/Trillek.zip
Talvi
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:30 am

Re: [TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

Postby Pseudonym » Sun Oct 06, 2013 4:17 am

The specific thing that I suggested, for the record, was to keep the text on a separate layer, and let the engine do the compositing.

The reason is that the text should look different if it's in the process of being selected (and if it's actually selected, come to that). This is an important visual cue. While I think of it, eventually we'll also need some sound cues for menus and other non-game interactions, but not for M1.
Pseudonym
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:54 am

Re: [TODO] Milestone 1 Menu

Postby clonk2u » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:56 am

This thread can probably be deleted soon
clonk2u
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:29 am


Return to Tasks, Bounties,and other TODO

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron