Trinary CPU

All discussions related to the DCPU and in game hardware (equipment, vehicles)

Trinary CPU

Postby Gareth » Sun Oct 06, 2013 4:43 pm

Instead of hijacking Zardoz's thead, I decided to start my own. So, what would YOU like to see in trinary CPU?
Gareth
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: Trinary CPU

Postby Eximius » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:10 pm

You should hop on IRC sometime so we can talk about this.
Eximius
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: Trinary CPU

Postby S0lll0s » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:42 pm

I'd like to see an efficient emulator before I dive into it.
S0lll0s
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:13 pm

Re: Trinary CPU

Postby Gareth » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:56 pm

The way I'd handle it would be to emulate the values in trytes simply as numbers with an artificial cap on them. The only time the actual trits would have to be simulated would be for tritwise operations.
Gareth
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: Trinary CPU

Postby Alderin » Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:44 pm

I am... unhealthily curious about trinary logic and trinary programming methods now.
Alderin
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:02 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Trinary CPU

Postby VladVP » Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:44 pm

*Ahem*
ternary!
VladVP
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:31 pm

Re: Trinary CPU

Postby alison3492 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:53 am

Log off mechanics have already been discussed although no real decision has been made.

I suspect that for most servers the number of vcpus owned by the players will be low. Last discussion I was in would probably put this into the realm of 6-10 vcpus per player max, spread over one to two ships and a base/station. I suspect that most vcpus will be running on npc ships.
alison3492
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:52 am


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron