Suggest rethinking setup.

For discussions around writing about the project.

Moderator: DarkSpartan

Suggest rethinking setup.

Postby Xiar » Mon Mar 17, 2014 7:59 pm

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Project Trillek. So please forgive me if I step on anyone' toes.

I did my best to research everyone's opinion on how the story should be like, but
I want to put out a few ideas I havn't seen anyone talk about and I believe should be part
of the discussion.

How about instead of focusing on warp drives/quantum entanglement how about we keep
the game focused on 1980's technology instead. The fact is, our solar system has more then 166 planets & moons so their is plenty to see. Additionally I don't see many space games that focus on our solar system.

So how do we travel quickly from one part of the solar system to another?
How about an Orion nucular bomb engine? Its a technology they had in the 1980's
and even today is one of the fastest methods we have to travel between planets.
Its also another technology you never see in scifi.

Conflict?
Well, how about a displaced alien race came to our solar system and colonized Titan(jupiter moon) since it met their biological needs (methane rain & silicon heavy soil). This could create conflict but also give an opportunity to add more advanced technology into the game.

I hope this helps!
Xiar

Re: Suggest rethinking setup.

Postby Zardoz » Mon Mar 17, 2014 9:38 pm

Xiar wrote: colonized Titan(jupiter moon) since it met their biological needs (methane rain & silicon heavy soil).

Titan(jupiter moon)
Titan(jupiter moon)
Titan(jupiter moon)
:o

Titan is a moon of Saturn, my friend...
Also, is a ice world were the temperature are enough low to rain methane and the crust (the solid surface) is water ice. It will be very hard to find silicon there ..,

Xiar wrote: The fact is, our solar system has more then 166 planets & moons so their is plenty to see. Additionally I don't see many space games that focus on our solar system.